Keto Chow Nutrition

Home/Keto Chow Nutrition

What allergens are there in the different flavors of Keto Chow? Does Keto Chow have tree nuts?

The different flavors of Keto Chow have various ingredients for flavoring, here are some of the major allergens and which (if any) flavors have them.

Gluten and wheat

  • All flavors of Keto Chow are gluten-free and wheat-free.


  • All flavors of Keto Chow are soy-free.


  • Chocolate Peanut Butter


  • Eggnog
  • Pumpkin Spice Caramel

Tree Nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, brazil nuts, cashews, pecans, pistachios and macadamia nuts, etc…)

  • Aside from nutmeg, all flavors of Keto Chow are tree nut-free.


  • All but 4 flavors HAVE dairy proteins, the dairy-free flavors are: Base Powder, Creamy Tomato Basil, Spicy Taco Soup Base, Beef Soup Base.


  • Eggnog


  • All flavors of Keto Chow are fish-free.


  • All flavors of Keto Chow are lupin-free.

Shellfish and Mollusks

  • All flavors of Keto Chow are shellfish-free.


  • All flavors of Keto Chow are sesame-free.
By |2020-05-13T14:51:05-06:00May 13th, 2020|0 Comments

Is Keto Chow “Organic”? Is Keto Chow “GMO”-free?

The primary goal of Keto Chow is very simple: Simply and easily get the best nutrients for humans doing a ketogenic diet. That’s it. All of the decisions we make, so far as to which ingredients we use, derive from that one goal.

The REASON for that most important factor is also equally simple: Our founder (Chris) uses Keto Chow for most of his food (and sometimes ALL for 100 days, seriously!). When the person in charge of formulating the product LIVES for months exclusively on it, they quickly make decisions to better the product’s taste and nutrition. It’s a bit of a selfish thing, but something that we think more companies should try it. This is why we use the forms of vitamins and minerals that are best for humans:

  • Vitamin D3 instead of D2
  • Vitamin K2 (MK-7 to be specific) instead of K1
  • Retinol instead of Beta Carotene (vitamin A)
  • Methylated folate instead of Folic Acid for everyone with MTHFR (plus methylated B12)
  • Magnesium Malate instead of Magnesium Oxide
  • Selenium, and more – you’ll find additional details at

Many of the vitamins are derived from animal sources, from specially bred single-cell organisms, or even synthesized in a laboratory. From our perspective, the specific manner in which an ingredient is made is less relevant than it’s purity and quality. Also, how beneficial that specific form is to humans. Again, that’s what happens when the person formulating it doesn’t want to get a vitamin deficiency.

So the answer to the questions of “Is Keto Chow ‘organic’?” (and we’re talking the common contemporary usage here as opposed to the actual meaning of “contains carbon”) or “Is Keto Chow ‘GMO’ free?” would be: As a whole? No, it’s neither “organic,” nor GMO-free. There are some ingredients in Keto Chow that would qualify for those label claims.  However, we aren’t interested in not using the best, most nutritious ingredients we can find to make that claim. It would be a disservice to our customers that rely upon us for the highest quality nutrition possible.

Having products that are “Organic” or “GMO-Free” are very important to many people. Caring about your health is a great thing! Our research directs us to put actionable data and science above philosophy. This, unfortunately, means that if you only purchase “organic” products, this isn’t the best option for you.

By |2020-04-30T12:03:05-06:00April 30th, 2020|0 Comments

Are there any dairy-free options? Can Keto Chow be dairy-free?

Most of our Keto Chow (all of the sweet flavors) uses milk protein isolate. Three of our Savory Soups (Creamy Tomato Basil, Taco Soup Base, and Beef Soup Base) use beef protein and beef bone broth. These are completely dairy-free and suitable for people with milk protein allergies.

If you’re lactose intolerant, we have some customers who can tolerate the milk protein-based flavors when they use these mixing options.

We do also offer our base powder here. It contains all of the vitamins and minerals in Keto Chow minus the protein powder, flavor, and sweetener. That way you can tailor it to your needs.

By |2020-03-25T11:24:12-06:00March 23rd, 2020|0 Comments

Does Keto Chow have a low-sodium option? Is that much sodium bad for you?

Keto Chow is designed to provide 1/3 of what your body needs in every serving, including sodium. Unless you have a rare, specific medical condition, it will not negatively affect you.

Interestingly enough, the recommendation that people limit their salt intake isn’t based on good science. New data and studies show that you’re more likely to encounter problems from consuming too little salt! There’s a lot more data about all of this on these sites:


Above all, on a keto diet, you need a LOT of sodium. Failure to get sufficient salt will leave you with an electrolyte deficiency commonly referred to as “keto flu.” Many find they feel their best by adding sodium above and beyond what Keto Chow has.

By |2020-03-30T13:58:45-06:00March 23rd, 2020|0 Comments

Can I drink Keto Chow immediately after preparing it? Why do I have to refrigerate it?

We recommend you allow your Keto Chow shake to refrigerate for at least 30 minutes, or preferably overnight. Allowing it to sit removes a harsh vitamin/metallic taste (30-45 minutes), and eliminates a lot of the saltiness (2-3 hours). As a result, you improve taste and texture.

Drinking immediately after mixing doesn’t hurt you, or cause you to lose health benefits.

By |2020-03-26T15:53:57-06:00March 12th, 2020|0 Comments

Does Keto Chow contain nickel or boron?

In May 2018, we removed Nickel and Boron from the vitamin/mineral formulation of Keto Chow. You’ll find this change on the Keto Chow Change Log where we publicly list what we’ve changed in each revision of Keto Chow.

Nickel and Boron both *might* be necessary for good health (see, but there are no clear results that can be looked at for absolute certainty.

Why do Nickel and Boron remain on the ingredients list? There is still a chance people could get one of the old bags. We would rather lose a potential customer than expose the allergic to nickel, making them ill. We’ll list it on until ALL of the product we have on-hand has switched to version 2.1.2 or newer.

By |2020-03-25T13:20:44-06:00October 17th, 2019|0 Comments

Does Keto Chow contain caffeine?

Currently, Mocha is the only flavor of Keto Chow with added caffeine (95mg). It also contains instant coffee powder and cocoa powder. In total, Mocha contains approximately 110mg of caffeine per serving.

Here is a breakdown of the other Keto Chow flavors that contain trace amounts of caffeine:

No other flavors of Keto Chow contain ingredients with caffeine (Chocolate Toffee does not contain any cocoa powder).

By |2020-03-25T13:20:20-06:00April 5th, 2019|0 Comments

Can I give Keto Chow to my child?

[iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”” frameborder=”0″ allow=”accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; fullscreen; gyroscope; picture-in-picture” allowfullscreen]

Kids, along with pregnant/nursing mothers are a touchy subject. Speaking legally, children, pregnant, or breastfeeding women should not use Keto Chow. Is it still OK for those groups to use?

The Bair kids (along with many of the kids of our employees, friends, and customers) routinely drink Keto Chow. We find it a bit silly that many people think nothing of feeding their children Mac & Cheese, Doritos, or dinosaur-shaped chicken nuggets slathered in sugary ketchup. Somehow, a product painstakingly engineered for nutrition is the one that’s suspect.

I give it to my kids. If you have any reservations at all, show the nutrition and ingredients to your doctor.

By |2020-03-27T08:06:27-06:00October 5th, 2018|2 Comments